What would you take?

If your house was burning, what would you take? It is a conflict between what’s practical and sentimental. What you’ll take is also a reflection of your background, interests and priorities. I was pretty inspired by this so I came up with my own hypothetical list thereafter!

Who: Me

Occupation: Copywriter, Advertising

Location: Singappore

  • Passport in its leather cover
  • Iphone and its Ferrari cover
  • Miu Miu Sunglasses, because it’s a gift and I don’t like to go into the sun without it
  • White leather watch, a daily necessity
  • Red and white polka dots mini book – it’s where I sketch my ideas and pen scribblings – on the go.
  • Book of poetry by Leonard Cohen, because it’s a gift bought at his concert in Perth. Also, Cohen is a very very eloquent man.
  • My list is pretty short, on hindsight. I don’t need much with me really.

What others wrote:

Name: Luca Cavallaro
Age: 34
Location: New York
Occupation: Designer
Website: http://officineottiche.tumblr.com/

List:

  • Alma Lou, she would even be enough.

If I have time:

  • Hard drive, for memories that my brain failed to store.
  • Sunglasses, I feel naked without them.
  • Wallet, a gift from my wife.
  • My father’s old camera, I promised him to take good care.
  • Sneaker, emergency orange.
  • In the black box, my vintage eyewear collection (favorite only).
  • Phone.
  • Vintage leather mask, in case I have to protect my face from the flames.
  • Dieter Rams alarm clock, I don’t wake up on my own.
  • Orange hummer, if i have to brake some windows during the escape.
  • Life buoy ring, in case of flooding. In Italy we say:” le sfighe non vengono mai da sole”, misfortunes never come alone

Name: Sarah Murphy
Age:26
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Photographer, Jewelry Designer, and Waitress
Website: www.sarahmurphyphotography.com , www.HeyMurphy.com

List

  •  Handsome, our Dog.
  • Three boxes of negatives, one of which includes all the negatives from 1984- 2008, given to me by my family’s photographer, Beverly Hall.
  • Three hard drives.
  • My 4×5 Wista Camera. It’s not the most practical camera but I love it and it was a graduation gift from my parents.
  • My Yashica MAT 124 camera.
  • My Canon 5D (not included).
  • A whale bone scrimshaw pendant from Nantucket, Mass.
  • An emerald and diamond ring given to me by my mother. The ring was originally given to her by my father when my twin brother and I were born.
  • A sketch book containing ideas for my jewelry line.
  • Two journals documenting a 6 week road trip across the country.
  • My wallet

Name: Kate McAuley

Age:36
Location: London
Occupation: Writer (i-am-not-a-celebrity.com)

  • Goose, the cat.
  • A broken shell – the first thing my beloved ever gave me not long after we met Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea.
  • Jade and silver earrings bought by my beloved at the souq in Muscat, Oman.
    Silver cuff bought by my beloved at a market in Douala, Cameroon.
  • My grandmother’s copy of the complete works of Oscar Wilde (most of my books are in storage at the moment).
  • Link bracelet bought by my beloved at a market in Cyprus.
  • Flapjack succulents struck from my mum’s plant in Sydney.
  • Money plant struck from favorite plant in my yard in Dubai.
  • Orchid given to me for my birthday last week (if you could see the flowers, you’d understand).
  • Handful of notebooks where I make plans and write prose for my novels and the other bits and pieces I’m commissioned to produce.
  • Mac book pro with an almost finished novel, photographs and music hiding somewhere safe inside.
  • iPhone (for reasons obvious).
  • Bronze statue bought in the markets in Douala, Cameroon.
  • Silver, glittery Manolo Blahniks.
  • Green woven hat from Sydney.
  • Framed photographs of us at The Grand Canyon and outside The Louvre.
  • The baby cactuses I got in Ikea, just because I love them and I’m so happy I’ve been able to keep them alive for more than a year.

P.S What would YOU take? 🙂

About whenpenmeetspaper

Copywriter, travel writer, blogger, wanderluster.
This entry was posted in Writing Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What would you take?

  1. Great post! I would take my old photos, computer & external hard drive, phone, charger and make sure I’m wearing my wedding rings and my watch.

Leave a Reply

